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K&P&? vs. K

Dan’s Quote of the Month: You learn the openings
forward since all positions stem from the opening move.
You learn the endgames backwar ds (fewest piecesfirst).
One reason is that when you learn more complicated
endgames you will know which positions you can win
after a possible trade, and which you cannot.

COLUMMNISTS
Let’stake a standard position from a K& P vs. K endgame:

Novice Nook

In this well-known position,
when:
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1) The pawn ison the sixth
rank,
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2) The defending king is
blocking it and the offensive
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king guarding it, and

g
% 3) Itisnot arook’s pawn, then

...the gameisadraw no matter who isto move if defender follows
onerule: Go straight back and forth between the promotion square
and the onein front of it (here d7 and d8) until the opponent’s king
approaches on the sixth rank and then oppose it. For example, with
Black to play in the previous diagram 1...Kd8! (1...Ke8? 2.Keb
Kd8 3.d7 wins) 2.Ke6 Ke8 is drawn as either White's King must
retreat, allowing an eventual three-fold repetition of position, or
White tries 3.d7+ when 3...K d8 forces White to either abandon the
pawn or stalemate with 4.K d6.

However, suppose White has an extratempo (anywhere!) to spend.
That would change everything, because then, no matter who is on
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move, he could wait until the crucial position where he would

add a doubled pawn on d2:
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stalemate and then just spend atempo and win! For example, let us

Now White wins no matter who
Ison move. Supposeitishis
move. Then 1.Ke5 waiting
1...Kd8 On other moves White
does not even need the tempo!
2.Ke6 Ke8 3.d7+ Kd8 White
does not have to abandon the
pawn or stalemate. He just plays
4.d3 (or 4.d4) and Black must
give way with 4...Kc7 allowing
5.Ke7 winning. Similarly, place
a bishop on d2 instead of the

Here 1.Ke5 Kd8 2.Ke6 Ke8

% 3.d7+ Kd8 and now 4.Ba5 is

mate, but any other bishop move
that does not stalemate

(4.Bf47?) followed by 4...Kc7
5.Ke7 also winsthematically as
before, using the extratempo. If
it were the opposite-colored
bishop to the promotion square,
there would be no mating or
stalemating possibilities, but the
tempo wins just the same.

Of courseif the defending king is not blocking the pawn, that is at
least as good for the player with the pawn. From all the above, we
can deduce a very powerful statement: If a player hasa king, a
defensible non-rook’ s pawn, and anything else, he can win except in
the rare cases where his pawn has already advanced into a
potential stalemating position (see the examples below)! It does not
matter what rank the pawn ison, so long asit is able to be defended.
The cases where the pawn is unstoppable and just racesin and
promotes are easiest, so we won't consider any of those!

We will first consider positions where the offensive king can
immediately guard the pawn. In that case the player with the extra
“something” just plays the position asif it were king and pawn vs.
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king, and then wins by wasting a crucial tempo at the end. Note that
the rule stated above only applies in pawn endgames with a pawn
other than an a or h-pawn. Therefore, not surprisingly, if we wish
to extend thisrule to all pawn endings, rook’s pawns will be
involved in most of the exceptions. Understanding which King and
pawn and ? vs. King endgames win (and which don’t!) is a part of
technique, i.e., knowing which positions are theoretical wins and
draws and how to win (or draw!) them.

The first and most obvious exception to the extended rule, which
includes rook’ s pawns, would be doubled rook’ s pawns:

S K’ beat

Y U 7 7 aworpoosi adansveking

/ / / / @ (e.g., one with control of g7 or
% % % % g8 for h-pawns), it is not

o s s surprising that an extra pawn
o, {;ﬁ? {;ﬁ? fgﬁ% does not help. So long as
% % % ﬁﬁ Black’ s king stops White' s from

/ / / / going to g7 or g8, the extra

pawn isworthlessanditisa

/ /? / gﬁ draw. Try it —it won't take long
% % % % to be convinced. Next, substitute

aKnight for the pawn on h2:

White wins easily with either
% % %}f % player to move. He should
PP P B e
/ / / When in doubt, don’t push the
/ / / /[%] pawn (especially, asin this case,
/ / / ;ﬁ to the 7t rank)! Y ou can aways
/ / / / do that |ater, even if the position

gets repeated once. But if you
%ﬁf %ﬁf %ﬁ, ‘52! push the pawn too far too fast,
% % % In many endgames you can
throw away the win. In the
above position White has to force the Black king off the 7th rank
(zugzwang), cover h8 with the knight (easiest from f7 with the king
on g6, a good setup to learn), and then push in the pawn: 1.Nf3 The
knight heads for g5, where it stops Black’ s king from going back
and forth on g7-h7. 1...Kg7 2.Ng5 K g8 3.K g6 Kh8 4.Nf7+ Kg8
Only now isit time for the pawn: 5.h5 Kf8 6.h6 Kg8 7.h7+ K8
8.n8Q+. Suppose Black moves first — then the win is almost as easy
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except you should push the pawn to gain atempo, but don’t push it
to the 7th rank until you are ready and sure! 1...Kg7 2.Kg5 Kh7
3.h5Kg7 4.nh6+ Kh7 5.Nf3 Kg8 6.K g6 Kh8 7.Ng5 We see the
same Kg6 and Nf7 strategy to force the Black king away from the
corner. 7...Kg8 8.Nf7 Kf8 9.n7 Ready! Sure!

The following is an example of pushing the pawn too fast. Suppose

it is White to move:
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Instead of correctly
maneuvering the knight to {7, if
White plays 1.n7+7? then after
1...Kh8 White has to abandon
the pawn or allow stalemate
with 2.Kh6. Draw.

With aBishop on h2 thewinis
easy once the Bishop guards g7
and h8:

So 1.Be5 Kg8 2.Kg6 Kc8 3.h5
etc. However, thisonly works
because the Bishop is on the
same color asthe pawn’s
promotion square. If the Bishop
Is on the opposite color, thisis
another exception: the infamous
“bishop and wrong color rook’s

4 pawn draw”:
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So long as the Black king has

% % % % access to h8, thistype of
position is drawn. Consider the
///////g logic: If the King is on h8 then
nothing can check it; if itison
/ / / / [%’ an adjacent square to h8, then h8
/ / / ) cen also never be attacked to
/ / / / ﬁ {orzglgnaé |I<t lf(ri?]m going there. If
, - g ison h8 and you
/ / / ﬁ take away all the adjacent
% % % % squares, then it is astalemate. If

you don’t take away all the
squares adjacent to h8, it has a place to move and next move it can
go back to h8: Draw! Try it if that helps you understand and
remember.

If the defending King is near the corner (has enough time to reach
the pawn), there are cases where the king, rook’ s pawn, and wrong
color bishop can cleverly prevent the opponent from getting to the
corner, but we don’t have space to cover these. Sufficeit to say that
if you can block it and don’t, you are throwing away the win!

Now suppose the extra“thing” in K& P& ?vs. K isapawn that is so
far advanced that it can only help stalemate:

Here is the other major
exception, and the one without a

T T&T 7] ecepion i

o | oK pawn White hasno
% ”ﬁ tg]/ /% caenxrlmlt i/v)llnibnec;vL:se ofG;trglcéz\r/r?ate

///%///% pOS_Sik;:Ifities. Fcijrit’dt;ep(dg

straightforwar L.d7+

/, / / / é&%éﬁgiéﬁg :/Zlnersna?:trei}fice
/ / / % th_e pawn to reach atic-tac-toe

% % % % win (see my December 2001

Novice Nook column,
“Techniques’). If hetries 1.Ke5 then 1...Kd7 wins the front pawn
with an immediate draw. If 1.Kf6 (or 1.Kf5) then 1...Kd7 2.Ke5
Kd8! (but not 2...Ke8? 3.Ke6 Kd8 4.d7 Kc7 5.Ke7 wins) 3.Keb

K e8 repeats the position and draws.

The most extreme and advanced example of awinning position
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where the offensive king is near the pawns and stalemateis a
possibility comes from an elegant study by E.Pogosiantsin 1961

Thislooks very much like the

% % % % above example since the natural
1.Ke6 Kd8 2.b6? (or 2.Kd6?) is
7 @fﬁ / / stalemate just as in the previous
% / % / diagram. The only difference
/ ﬁ / / ‘%’/ seems to be that the b-pawn is
% / 7 | stdematinginstead of the
i doubled d-pawn. But vivel
/ / % % 7 dﬁ‘lfjérence! pl?/:tr;ad l\J/t\/\r/:l}[/ee p?ays
/ / / / 2.Kd5! Now if Black does not
% % % % teke the d-pawn immediatety, he

loses quickly, e.g., 2...Kc7
3.Kc5 Kxd7 4.Kb6 and 5.Ka7 wins. So Black puts up the most
resistance with 2...Kxd7 hoping for 3.Kc5? Kc7 with adraw as
seen in the first problem. But White still winswith 3.b6! taking the
opposition no matter how Black retreats, e.g. 3...Kd8 4.Kd6 (but
again not 4.Kc6 Kc8 with adraw — you must be careful!) 4...Kc8
5.Kc6 Kb8 6.b7 Ka7 7.Kc7 and therest, | hope, is easy.

In the positions we have considered thus far the offensive player’s
King is able to immediately guard his pawn and thus follows one of
the requirements for our rule. But suppose the King isfar away;
then the rule does not apply. If the “other” pieceisaKnight that is
able to guard the pawn from behind, it will be awin anyway since
the Knight cannot be captured without the pawn promoting. In the
following case, even though the Knight isin front and is safe,
White's pawn is already too far advanced and it is a draw no matter
who isto move:

Black dares not capture the

%/ %/ ﬁ % Kr;iI gi:cjhtt?]ntc)letmust Shlgﬂedbﬁgk
(oo and for ween g7 and h8.
//////@§ However, if White's King ever
/ / / guards the pawn when the black
//////// Kihngison h8 (he)zcannot do so
whenitisong7!),itisa
/////// stalemate so he cannot make
progress. Draw. To combine
[%] / / / these themes into a more
% % % % practical setting, | created the

following problem:
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White to play and win. The first

moveiseasy: 1.Kcl to stop the

pawn. Now 1...b2+ 2.Kblisa

waste of time for Black, so he

» B should immediately set out to

%{ % stop White' s pawn: 1...Kd3 No
sensein alowing 1...Kd4

e o 2.Nd6+ since the King will be
/} 5? %ﬁf %&, »| “inside the promotion square”
%, %}, %? g;;ﬁ after 1...Kd3 anyway. 2.h4
ﬁ ﬁ 2.Ng6 can transpose. 2...Ked
3.n5 Kf5 4.Ng6! but not 4.h67?
Kf6 5.Kb2 (5.n7 Kg7 isthe same thing) 5...Kf7 6.n7 Kg7 and
draws asin the earlier example! 4...K g5 5.Nf4! Now the black
King cannot capture either the white Knight or pawn and since there
is no stalemate looming, White wins after capturing the b-pawn as
shown before.
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Thisideadoes not require arook’s pawn. For example, the
following isadraw with either player to move:

Here White cannot guard the
% pawn with the Knight from
behind, soitisadraw: 1.Kg2
zz4 Kb6 2.Nd6 K c5 and the double
attack will eventually win the
pawn and draw. But put the
Knight on f6 instead and it wins
easily: DIAGRAM
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the Bishop.

1.Ne4 (1.Nd5+ works too, but
1.Ned is conceptually simpler)
1...Kb6 2.Nc3 and wins since if
the black King goesto c4 to
attack both the Knight and
pawn, the pawn just promotes.
So Black is stuck and White has
time to advance hisKing and
win as shown in the early
examples. If the Knight can get
to d4, this also works:

1.Nd4! (but not 1.Nd6? Kc5 and
the Knight isin front of the
pawn!) 1...Kc5 2.Kg2! Takethe
Knight if you want it! White
again wins easily by
approaching with his King.

If the extrapieceis aBishop it
can win (without arook pawn of
the wrong color!) even if it
guards the pawn from the front,
since the pawn can also guard

Rooks and Queens of course don’t even need pawns...

Dan welcomes readers questions; heis afull-time instructor on the
| CC as Phillytutor.
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